Hint mode is switched on Switch off


Category — Issue Parameters
A CFI (Classification of Financial Instruments) code is a six-unit alphabetic code which contains basic information about a financial instrument (type and form of issue, peculiarities of circulation, redemption and other). This code is not unique and completes an ISIN code. The CFI code is usually assigned together with the ISIN code.

A CFI code consists of 6 Latin letters:
The first letter characterizes the general level of classification, i.e. the Categories. There are 6 main types, and the most common ones are listed below:
E – Equities
D – Debt Instruments
R – Rights/Entitlements
O – Options
F – Futures
M – Miscellaneous

The second letter specifies the groups within each Category. For example, there are more than 8 groups for the Debt Instruments category, such as:
B – Bonds
С – Convertible bonds
T – Medium-term notes
Y – Money market instruments
G – Mortgage-backed securities
A – Asset-backed securities
N – Municipal bonds
D – Depositary receipts on debt instruments

Subsequent letters (symbols 3–6) indicate the characteristics related to each group. This can be a rate type, redemption conditions, bond form, etc. for the Bonds group.

“X” means that this attribute of a financial instrument is not defined due to lack of information, cannot be applied at the moment of the code assignment or is not applicable for this category or group of the instrument. A CFI code usually remains unchanged, but there are two exceptions:
• Replacing “X” symbols, which have undefined values, with specific ones in the course of a financial instrument placement, based on its results or other actions determined by issue documents.
• Carrying out corporate actions and making decisions by an issuer which lead to a change in the essential characteristics of a financial instrument (for example, a change in voting rights).
Terms from the same category

Find Any Data on Any Bond in Just One Click

Full data on over 500,000 bonds and stocks worldwide

Powerful bond screener

Ratings from the top 3 global ratings agencies, plus over 70 local ones

Over 300 pricing sources from the OTC market and world stock exchanges

User-friendly and intuitive across multiple platforms

Get access

— Are you looking for the complete & verified bond data?

— We have everything you need:

full data on over 700 000 bonds, stocks & ETFs; powerful bond screener; over 350 pricing sources among stock exchanges & OTC market; ratings & financial reports; user-friendly interface; available anywhere via Website, Excel Add-in and Mobile app.



You will have detailed descriptive & pricing data for 650K bonds, 76K stocks, 8K ETFs
Get full access to the platform from any device & via Cbonds app
Enhance your portfolio management with Cbonds Excel Add-in
Build yield maps, make chart comparison within a click
Don't wait any longer — start using Cbonds today! Register
Registration is required to get access.